Index 0

12” double-LP in letterpressed foldover packaging (edition of 500) + Digital Download

Index 0 showcases new work for strings, piano, and electronics from six young American composers: Elizabeth Adams, Jack Callahan, Stephanie Huguenin, Beau Sievers, Andrew C. Smith, and K.C.M. Walker. Their compositions are performed by avant-garde violin duo String Noise (Conrad Harris and Pauline Kim Harris) with violist Dov Scheindlin (Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Arditti Quartet) and cellist Brian Snow (Newspeak, Proteus Ensemble).

The textures on Index 0 range from the ice cold minimalism of Sievers’s computer-composed Distance Etudes, Callahan’s Edge of Intention (I), and Walker’s elegiac piano solo precessional, to the propulsive heterodyning and incendiary extended techniques of Adams’s CUSP (the music for the noise). Huguenin’s Para-ll-el offers a warm reprieve where open harmonies dissolve into intertwining touches. Closing the record, Smith’s Topology compositions are algorithmically generated meditations in just intonation in the proud tradition of Harry Partch, Ben Johnston, Marc Sabat, and Larry Polansky.

Recommended for fans of Morton Feldman, Rebecca Saunders, Flux Quartet, and Larry Polansky.

Recorded by Alexis Berthelot at Studio G and Benzaquen Hall, DiMenna Center for Classical Music. Edited and mixed by Beau Sievers at the Bregman Music and Audio Research Studio. Mastered by Joe Branciforte at Greyfade Studios.

Art by Joanne K. Cheung. Design by Joanne K. Cheung and Indexical.

Back to releases